top of page
Search

Go-Karting in Tokyo... Through Main Streets!

Updated: Dec 30, 2019


Go-Karting in Tokyo

Visions of temples and sushi danced through my head as we planned our furthest trip yet, Japan. We had many amazing experiences awaiting us, from a sumo tournament, to a traditional stay in a Ryokan. However, who could resist the enticing offer to drive a go-kart in the streets of Tokyo, obviously, it was the first thing we booked.


The hottest day of our vacation, above 30°C, and we were about to put on fleece costumes and race through busy streets, surrounded by traffic... sounded like a great idea.


Upon arrival at our rendezvous point, we handed over our ID and international drivers licenses, probably for insurance purposes, and hurried to pick our costumes. To our relief, there was a cotton short sleeve option, perfect if you don't feel like passing out from heat exhaustion.


After lighthearted warnings of passed accidents and explaining the rules of the road (driving on the opposite side!? Great.) It was time to choose our ride.

The Steed of Choice

Heart pounding, I sat in the first kart I saw and started my engine. As the sun beat down, beginning the process of perspiration, I lurched forward, following our group.


Holy mother these things had guts! The karts easily had enough power to keep up with the flow of traffic and following the others in front of me was reassuring, as I knew I wouldn't be the first to royally screw something up... I'd possibly have time to dodge it.


Then, my nightmare, a red light. I was separated from my group and sitting at the stop line, I desperately tried to figure out where to drive... while hopefully not getting in the way of a truck.


As the light turned green, I realized the vehicles I shared this agonizing stop with were waiting for me to go first. Taking a chance, I went straight, hoping somehow I could find the group. As I rounded the bend I was ecstatic to see they had waited... again, probably for insurance purposes, but nonetheless I was grateful.


We drove around for about an hour, passing through many major districts within Tokyo and delighting the people of tour buses and vehicles passing by.


Pedestrians on the sidewalk would cheer and give us a high five any chance they got, it was the closest thing I've had to feeling like a celebrity and very surreal.

Tourists Taking our Picture!

Other vehicles were very gracious in allowing all our go-karts to change lanes easily and I never felt crowded by the traffic as they gave us a wide berth.


Locals showing consideration for others is one thing that was very apparent to us while we navigated the streets of Tokyo. The people there always seem to think of how their actions will affect everyone else before doing anything, ensuring no negative outcome would result, and that did not end with go-karting tourists.


I never thought I would do something like this, however, I can't think of a more uniquely thrilling way to see such a vibrant city.


Feel free to contact us if you would like more information on the company we used. We highly recommend trying something like this if you want a thrilling experience, where you know you will probably be okay, but there are no guarantees. It will be a highlight of our travels for many years to come!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page