top of page
Search

Photos From the Cockpit: A Glimpse Into the Life of a Pilot

Updated: Dec 19, 2019


Air Canada Embraer 175

Long days and even longer nights. The sacrifice of leaving their family for days on end and missing out on milestones they wish they could be there for. Relying on pictures and text messages from loved ones to help feel their presence.


Those who are pilots have a deep love for what they do and in their mind they can't imagine a worse punishment than having it taken from them.


An occupation that truly becomes a second life, completely separated from their world at home base.


In order to catch just a glimpse of the life of a pilot, and the reasons that drive them, I give you Photos from the Cockpit.

A shimmering coastline.

"Good morning beautiful. It took me 2.5 hours to get to work today lol I'll message you when we land."

A city shines through the clouds.

"I'm sorry you don't feel well.. I'll be home around midnight tonight, I'll take care of you."

Ship yard in Philadelphia.

"Hey babe, I'm in Philly. Tell Dominic I wish I could watch him swim today and kiss the kids."

Burning orange above the clouds.

"I got to see Air Force One today. There was a ground stop for VIP movement."

Co-pilot.

"Lol Dimitri must have stuck his Mickey into my flight bag. I miss you guys."

The cockpit of a Boeing 727.

"The boys were asking what my office looked like, show them this lol. Love you guys I'll be landing late so don't wait up."

Central Park, Manhattan, New York

"Remember when you were asking how big Central Park was? I flew over it today haha."

The clouds look like lava fields as the lights below peek through.

"Had a long day today, I'm exhausted. Sorry babe I gotta get some sleep sweet dreams I love you."

Fresh snowfall covers the city of Markham, Ontario.

"Good news I got in early. I'll be home in a few hours depending on traffic and we can go do something with the kids tonight, I miss them."

Night falls on Toronto, Ontario.

"Not finished yet. Setting up for another Chicago flight. In Toronto right now."

Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

"I watched the video you sent of Dominic playing his piano. Tell him he is doing awesome, I can't wait to hear him in person."

Pearson Airport.

"Sorry don't have time to text I'm running through customs then set the plane up and go go go."

The sun illuminating the clouds.

"Good. You guys have fun. I'll message you when I'm in Toronto."

Multi-function Display on an Embraer 175.

"Haha see where it says sushi? They named a waypoint for your addiction."

A sea of clouds.

"We flew the Stanley Cup today! The flight attendant saw this case being loaded onto the plane and saw this guy had an NHL logo on his shirt and asked him. I got a picture with it haha."

Clouds floating over Toronto, Ontario.

"Hey I'm in Boston about to leave. Love you babe. Message you when we land."

Sun rises over the CN Tower.

"I'll be home late if you go to bed, I love you and sweet dreams."

The moon from above.

"Hey I got Christmas and New Years off! We should plan something fun for New Years Eve."

New York City

"Good morning beautiful. My flight isn't until tonight so I'm taking the train to Manhattan. I'll send you pictures when I have wifi. Love you."

The queue for departure.

"We're delayed, I might not make it back until tomorrow. I'll let you know what's happening when I find out."

Flying above the clouds.

"We are transporting a couple wolves with the cargo to Winnipeg tonight. Don't worry there are vets on board they won't get out haha."

Montreal, Quebec

"Say hi to my parents for me when you see them. Sorry I couldn't be there."

The final approach into Montreal.

"Oh, your dad should be in the same terminal I arrive in. I'll just bring him home with me."

Downtown Toronto.

"On my way home babe. Thanks for holding down the fort, see you soon."









3,690 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page